My Texas Kitchen

Beans! My favorite.

with one comment

Pinto Beans

Beans are good

Beans are great for so many reasons: tastes great, versatile, healthy, super super cheap, and easy to cook. I like to keep my beans simple so that I can do whatever with them after they are cooked. Such as: add sausage and peppers; refried beans; serve over a slice of cornbread with some hot sauce.

Cleaning Notes:
Make sure and give your beans a quick look over to check for small rocks or bad beans. I usually just cut corner of the bag and slowly pour the beans through one of my hands so that I can see bad beans and stones better. Sometimes I don’t find anything funky.

Ingredients:

  • 1 bag of dried pinto beans, rinse, then soak in a big bowl of water for 3 – 6 hours (soaking time will effect the cooking time, the less soaking the longer the cooking time)
  • 1 half of an onion
  • 3-5 cloves of garlic, peeled and roughly chopped
  • 2 teaspoons salt

Drain beans from the soaking water. Put in a dutch oven with the onion, garlic, and salt. Fill pot up half way make sure there is plenty of water on top of your beans. Bring to a boil, stirring a few minutes. Cover and reduce to medium low (I reduce to #2 on my stove dial). Cook for 1-4 hours taste and adjust seasoning and stir every hour. When beans are soft and tender but not falling apart they are done. Remove onion. Put in your favorite big tupperware and store in the fridge.

You can use whatever kind of beans your want, but pintos are the most versatile.

Written by mytexaskitchen

August 17, 2010 at 5:34 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Cooked pintos the amount you want to eat, I usually fix 3-4 ladles. (you can sub canned pintos) […]


Leave a Reply

