My Texas Kitchen

My Salad Days

with 2 comments

Eat Green Texas

Fa Fa Fa Fresh, Eat Green Texas

Super fresh salad greens are a relatively new discovery for me. If you have never had fresh lettuce, or any other fresh salad greens then you really need to get on this flavor train. When I say fresh I mean somebody JUST picked them, not something claiming to be fresh at the grocery store.

The difference is crazy. Tender, crisp, sweet, buttery and about 10 times more flavor. I have always liked salad but it was never one of those things that I would be like “DUDE YOU GOT TO TRY THIS SALAD”. But one day at the farmers market I got a fresh mixed salad green bag from the cool farmer dudes over at Comeback Creek, I took it home paired it with some fresh Texas tomatoes, cucumber, some green onions, avocado, pecans, and some ranch. And hold on to your hat it was a taste revolution. Ever since, I have purchased some fresh salad greens down at the farmers market if I can get to them before they sell out. So, DUDE YOU GOT TO TRY THIS SALAD.

My favorite vendors are: Comeback Creek and Eat Green Texas

Local Greens

Local Greens are way better

Written by mytexaskitchen

July 26, 2010 at 6:33 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This Site Rocks!!, I have been an avid fan of eating and this guy makes me appreciate cooking instead of heading to a fast food place. I hope to see some chicken dishes soon.

    comic-con queso diez

    July 26, 2010 at 7:45 pm

  2. You are so right about fresh veggies, the flavor is unbelievable. Will definitley make you never buy veggies at a supermarket again. I feel like i’ve been so cheated this whole time. My favorites are fresh homegrown tomatoes and cucumbers. Doesn’t get much better! Lovin this site, next tiem I need inspiration i know where to turn.

    Jolie

    July 26, 2010 at 8:53 pm


Leave a Reply

