My Texas Kitchen

Friday Night Pizza Party

leave a comment »

I love making pizza. It is a yummy blank canvas, I don’t think I have ever made the same pizza twice. I have a few secrets that make my pizza really tasty and very easy to make.

Jimmy's Food Store Dallas

I love shopping at Jimmy's

Tips for way better pizza
1. Homemade Tomato Sauce (super easy recipe below)
2. Jimmy’s $2 pizza dough. (Frozen dough ball, makes 2 pizzas)
3. Jimmy’s Pizza Cheese mix. (a mix of provolone and mozzarella)

You can make your own dough but Jimmy’s dough is just as good as the very best homemade dough I have ever had. I usually keep 1-3 dough balls in the freezer. The cheese mix is super cheap and a great blend. Other great buys at Jimmy’s for pizza, a handful of fresh basil costs about 25 cents. Their Reggiano Parmigiano is the best price in town. Also their goat cheese is a great buy. And the olive oil…dang. Jimmy’s is so fun, geez I love shopping there. I will post some pics from my next trip.

The Best Homemade Tomato Sauce
I make my sauce every Saturday when I get home from the Dallas Farmers Market, I love working with the fresh tomatoes and it makes my house smell crazy good.
I try and buy the ripest tomatoes I can find at the farmers market, sometimes they sell small boxes of sauce tomatoes on the cheap which are a bit to ripe to eat fresh but when cooked they are perfect.

Ingredients:
10-15 Super Ripe Tomatoes, washed and cut into 2 inch hunks (discard any funky parts)
1/3 Cup Olive Oil, good quality
2 Cloves of Garlic for each tomato used, peeled smashed and coarsely chopped
Kosher Salt or sea salt if you have it
Honey (I use local honey, you should too it is good for you and supports local biz)
Red Pepper flake

You can make a fresh small amount sauce right before you cook your pizza with just one nice size tomato and 1 clove of garlic. I used to do this before tomato season started. Use the same method just reduce quantities of stuff. Notice I don’t remove the skin, it is way easier and I like the texture and it has more healthy stuff.

Directions:
1. Heat Oil
2. Toss in garlic, cook for 15 seconds, don’t burn
3. Add Tomatoes
4. Season with salt
5. Drizzle around some honey (the amount depends on your taste and your tomatoes)
6. Add a pinch of red pepper flake
7. Cook for 5 minutes on medium high and mash sauce with potato masher
8. Reduce temp to medium-low & reduce liquid level in sauce usually take about 30-45 minutes. Taste and adjust seasoning every 10 minutes. Cook until it is a little bit thinner that the consistency you want. It will thicken a bit in the fridge.

Store in a jar in the fridge.

Pizza Ingredients

Burger, Onions & Peppers Pizza

Pizza Ingredients:
Dough ( If using jimmy’s take out of the freezer in the morning and put bag into a metal bowl and let it sit on your counter for about 4-5 hours)
2/3 cup tomato sauce
1-2 Cups cheese (I like a mozzarella provolone mix)
1 Cup, main topping like cooked: sausage, ground beef, or grilled chicken (my fav)
1-2 Cup additional toppings (I like to use 2 kind of things: Peppers & Onions, or mushrooms & sliced roasted potato, or olives & artichoke hearts)
1/3 cup Additional flavor cheese like goat cheese and Reggiano Parmigiano (optional)
Corn Meal
Olive Oil

Directions:
Preheat oven to 400

Pizza dough

Rolling dough is easy

Flour dough ball and surface and roll out to the size of your baking sheet. Lightly oil sheet and sprinkle with a very light dusting of cornmeal. Put rolled out dough on baking sheet (I roll mine around the rolling pin so it wont stretch out while I am transporting it to the pan). Give it a few good rolls in the pan to spread the dough out. Spread the sauce on top. Add half of the cheese mix. Add toppings meat first then veg. Add Rest of cheese and any Goat cheese or Reggiano Parmigiano.

Bake on 400 for 15-25 minutes. I set my timer for 15 then check every few minutes.

PIZZA PARTY!

Before Pizza

Before Oven

After pizza

After oven

Farm fresh & local ingredients used:Tomatoes for sauce & fresh Red Peppers from Comeback Creek CSA (These dudes rule), Jimmy’s Pizza Cheese Mix & Dough, my own home grown banana peppers,Texas Meats Grass feed Ground Beef, Lamb’s Cornmeal.

Written by mytexaskitchen

July 24, 2010 at 2:19 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

