My Texas Kitchen

Quick Old Fashioned Summer Pickles

with 2 comments

Please take some home

...Please take some home

Quick Summer Pickles

It's Pickle Season

My folks have this super awesome garden in front of their house. My Mom is completely swamped with cucumbers. She planted 4 vines and they have cranked out about 80 pounds this year.

As a result of this super huge harvest I have had the chance to make pickles just about any way i can think of. I like to experiment with different flavor combos and sweet sour salty ratios. But I have found that if you use equal amounts of Vinegar, Water, and Sugar you have a mild sweet pickle base that you can really have some fun with. This just takes me about 10 minutes to make. Send me a message if you want some of my Mom’s cucumbers she has a freaking ton of them.

Pickle Brine Ingredients:
1 cup sugar
1 cup vinegar (I use 1/2 organic cider vinegar, 1/2 white vinegar)
1 cup water
3 garlic cloves, peeled, germ removed then diced (this is the germ, if you don’t remove it they will turn blue)
pinch of salt

Pickle Jar Ingredients:
1 big clean jar, w/ a clean lid (Sometimes I buy pickles at the store just for a cool jar that I can reuse)
1 big cucumber, wash and slice, in rounds or spears (discard the ends, you can remove the seeds if you want)
1/4 – 1/2 onion, peeled and sliced
1-3 Hot Peppers, washed and stem end removed (optional)
1-2 Sprigs Fresh Dill, washed (optional, but this makes it super fresh)

Directions:

  • Clean all the vegetables.
  • In this order put onions, peppers, herbs and cucumbers in the jar.
  • Boil sugar, vinegar, water, garlic and pinch of salt for 2 minutes.
  • Put the jar in the base of your sink and pour liquid into the jar. Don’t put the lid on until it has had a chance to cool slightly.
  • Then put in the refrigerator and they will be ready to eat in 2 days and they get better and better in the fridge.

Notes & Substitutions:

  • Any light flavored vinegar will work like rice, white wine, champagne, apple, and white.
  • You can use baby carrots, or cauliflower instead of cucumber.
  • 1 spoon of Red pepper flake works great instead of hot peppers
  • Any herbs would be fun to try
  • Some people like to put a dash of turmeric for color, I don’t use it.
  • I have messed around with mustard seeds, coriander, pickling spice, all spice. I am not a big fan. On reason is I don’t keep many of those spices on hand, and I just like the pure fresh none spiced taste more.
  • If you see any fuzz, or super funky flavor then toss them. This has never happened to me.
Written by mytexaskitchen

July 22, 2010 at 11:31 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey Chris, this looks like a super site you have going here so far! Best of luck getting yourself the audience and, dare I say, fan base, you deserve, man!

    Christopher McDonald

    July 23, 2010 at 12:59 am

  2. this is super easy! pickles turned out great!

    jeremiah

    July 26, 2010 at 6:45 pm


Leave a Reply

