My Texas Kitchen

Secret Recipe: Texas Cornbread

with 6 comments

Ingredients:
1 ½ cups cornmeal
½ cup flour
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp sugar
1 tsp table salt
½ tsp baking soda
¼ cup vegetable oil (optional, leaving it out makes it super low fat, and it tastes great..really)
1 ½ cups buttermilk
2 jumbo eggs
1 ear corn cut from the cobb or 1 8-oz can corn (optional)

Directions:
Heat oven to 400 degrees. Mix together the first six dry ingredients. Add the oil, buttermilk, and eggs. Stir until all of the dry ingredients are thoroughly combined. Add corn and stir. Grease an 8×8 inch pan, I use something like this. Pour batter into greased pan and bake 20-30 minutes until golden brown.

Additional optional ingredients:
Chopped Jalapenos
Sliced Green Onions
Grated Cheddar Cheese (I like to call it sprinkle cheese)
Melted Butter
Put it on top of chili and bake it

Farm fresh & local ingredients used: Lamb’s Cornmeal

Credits: This is a variation on my Mom’s recipe. I have eaten a ton of this stuff.

Written by mytexaskitchen

July 21, 2010 at 10:56 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. yummmmmm! I LOVE homemade cornbread! My grandpa use to make it and swore by a cast iron skillet.

  2. I made this last night! Yummy! I did over-do the jalapenos a little so it was a little spicy for my taste.

    Jeanne

    July 23, 2010 at 6:18 pm

  3. Any Texan worth their salt uses bacon grease in a hot cast iron skillet.
    However, I know your mom makes good cornbread…
    Nice site! Glyn

    Scargod

    August 3, 2010 at 5:20 pm

    • That is a old school approach. That is not really my style though. It is an easier cleanup with the Corningware or Pyrex dish. As for the bacon grease, I prefer a more healthy style. I like the pure corn flavor more as well, it tastes fresher and cleaner. Also most folks don’t have a can of bacon grease in the freezer like you and me. My folks have been cooking it without any oil and it is really great with a big bowl of pintos and some sliced tomato.

      mytexaskitchen

      August 3, 2010 at 6:24 pm

  4. Love your website!!! I have been passing it around to everyone I know. I knew Escargo wouldn’t take long to comment…hahaha

    Little Old School is OK too 😉

    Bobby

    August 5, 2010 at 7:04 am


Leave a Reply

